Helping museums in the East Midlands to serve the public better

Helping museums in the East Midlands to serve the public better


About EMMS

What Does EMMS Do?

EMMS is a catalyst for change in the museum and heritage sector, inspiring leaders and supporting workforces so that their organisations play more important roles in their communities.  As a result, the region’s museums and heritage attractions will become more successful and highly-regarded, nationally and internationally.

We see ourselves as a leader, a partner and a supporter: inspiring and encouraging others, adding value to purposeful partnerships, and helping museums to continually move forwards.

Since April 2002, EMMS has operated as an important forum and regional network for all museums and heritage organisations in the East Midlands, providing our members with a wide range of services to support them in their work. Our membership includes Local Authorities, independent museums and heritage groups, the regional branches and properties of English Heritage and the National Trust, universities and individual members.

We also work closely with organisations such as Museum Development East Midlands, the Midlands Federation of Museums & Galleries and the regional domain bodies for libraries and archives.

How Do I Become a Member?

Membership of EMMS is open to every museum in the region, organisations involved in cultural heritage, and individuals.

Click here to find out more

Who Are EMMS?

EMMS Directors:

  • Darren Barker, Chair

Partner, Barker Langham

  • Zara Matthews, Vice-Chair

Market Town Museums Manager, Leicestershire County Council

  • Mike Galer, Vice-Chair

General Manager, National Tramway Museum

  • Matthew Constantine

Collections, Interpretation & Learning Manager, Leicester Arts & Museums Service

  • Belinda Humfrey

Chair, Desborough Civic Society

EMMS has two part time members of staff: Steve LeMottee, Executive Director, and Emma Hogarth, Administrator.

They are guided by the Board, which consists of forward thinking professionals who are committed to the development of the sector and representative of our members.